Been a while

Wow, when was that last post?  Blimey!

To say I’ve been a bit busy would be an understatement.  Saying that, I had better explain.  As well as my regular daily job, I also write every month for 3DWorld magazine – in fact, I have just completed the Q&A for magazine 113 about how to create sliver tarnish with CGI (got the question from the CGTalk forum here) – and prior top that I was working on some design work for a friend.  It’s all a big sauce bottle labelling thing.  See what you think of one of the labels – minus important details of course:

barbecue sauce
barbecue sauce

Ther are going to be 10 in all, but I’ve gotten this one and the other two off to the printers so far.  Still, I’m pleased with the results so far.  The guy who is behind the sauces is called Vito (great name) and he also runs and is the head chef in a little restaurant not far from where I live called Vito’s Trattoria – funnily enough.  you can find out more about this place here.

As well as this, I have just finished a review for 3DWorld of Maya 2009.  boy it’s a doozy of an upgrade.  I won’t drive you mad about it right now, but the fact of the matter is, it’s actually really good.  I mean, as far as I can tell, it’s very good.  time was limited for the review, I won’t deny that, mainly because of a licensing system that requires you to have access to the 2009 webkey (which is almost completely impossible to get to – damn their eyes) but to give you the general gist, it’s a bit better than 2008.  Oh yes, it is.  And nPartilces?  Ooh, I could watch them all day.

nParticles colliding and spilling out of nCloth.  Just wow.
nParticles colliding and spilling out of nCloth. Just wow.
nPartilces using the nucleus technology flowing down a volume axis curve force.  Still wow.
nPartilces using the nucleus technology flowing down a volume axis curve force. Still wow.

Just in case you were wondering as well, yes, Mental Ray is by far better implemented thatnks to the software now being owned by Autodesk and long may it continue.  Here’s an image using FG, GI and some models both built and bought for a walkthrough.

Spanish Living Room - ish.
Spanish Living Room – ish.

Anyway, that’s what I’ve been up to.  What have you been doing?  Let me know.  The review comes out in next month’s 3DWorld and the Computer Arts Project piece I mentioned last time or two ago is now on the shelves.  The mag really is amazing, and I think any budding designers and motion graphics people should give it a look.

Bye for now


Leave a Reply

